The members of the group have progressively established themselves over the past eight years in the field of friction processing. The group consists of staff having two doctorates and three professors of which two members are NRF C-rated. The group has a well-balanced academic/industrial experience with an established reputable international network and is supported by three international professors currently holding honorary and adjunct professorships with the Nelson Mandela University. They have published extensively in international accredited journals and their work has been cited on several occasions. They are used as referees for journal papers and have representation on international editorial boards.